Unrequited - Shawn Mendes Imagine (requested)

Request: can I get a Shawn Mendes imagine? I actually don’t have anything specific in mind, so you can just write anything that comes to mind! ilysm :)

A/N: This was one of my first imagines I wrote, so please don’t judge, I tried fixing it up a little, but the amount of time jumps make me cringe oh lord. But hope you enjoy anyway!

MASTERLIST

{‘Y/n/n’ = ‘your nickname’} 

Y/n’s POV

It’s hard you know? Loving someone that loves someone else. You go to sleep thinking about them, whilst they go to sleep thinking about someone else entirely. It hurts seeing them fall more and more in love with someone that’s not you.

Well that’s happening right now. I’ve been in love with my best friend, Shawn Mendes, since I could remember and he’s been in love with Lauren, who also happens to be madly in love with him as well.

They flirt non-stop and do literally everything together. If Shawn was at a party, Lauren will, no doubtably, be there. She’s not a bad person, it’s just the love of my life is kinda in love with her, so I have the right to dislike her at least a little.

Yeah, unrequited love’s a bitch.

I want to move on. No, I have to move on. And the only way I know how is to tell him. I’m not very confident, I know, but I also know that if I don’t do this, my heart will break even more, and I don’t think I can handle that. I’ll tell him tonight when he comes over for our movie night. But for now I’ll try an just act as if everything’s okay.


After school

“Hey are we still on for the movie night?” Shawn panted as he caught up to me in the hallways.

“Of course, I would never cancel the movie night!” I said dramatically.

“Yeah, of course not,” He shook his head chuckling under his breath.

"Do you mind if I bring someone?” Oh no. No, no, say no Y/n.

“Oh sure,” idiot,“who?” At that moment, I’ve never wanted to slap myself more.

“Lauren,” he smiled, looking down,“I kinda had plans with her, but now she can come with us,” Fan-fucking-tastic. I just nodded, wanting to cry but also punch him in the face for being so oblivious.

“Okay well, I’ll see you tonight Y/n/n,” He hugged me and waved bye as he ran up to his car, where, of course, Lauren was leaning against, waiting for him.

My house was close by so I couldn’t be bothered to get a ride from him. I’m glad now, because I don’t think I could last one second with Lauren and him in one car, flirting non-stop, and me in the backseat wanting someone to shoot me.


Movie night

I placed the bowl of popcorn on the coffee table in front of the TV. Switching to Netflix and patting the pillows to make them more comfy, I sighed.

Why did I say yes to Lauren coming, I don’t want her here. I can’t tell him now, no way in hell.

A knock on the door brought me back to reality. I stood up taking a deep breath and walked over to open the door. Shawn was standing there in his notorious red and black flannel, unbuttoned, black shirt underneath and black jeans with black vans to match. He looked amazing as usual.

"Hey!” He brought me into one of our famous hugs, my hands around his neck, his on my waist lifting me off the floor slightly. I giggled lightly as he let me go. I loved our hugs so much. To me they mean everything, to him they just come across as friendly.

“Oh, Lauren can’t make it, she has to go to a family dinner, so it’s just the two of us,” Yes. But, no, now I have to tell him. Shit.

“Oh that’s fine, but I did put out food for the three of us so there’s a lot more that usual,” his eyes went wide as he looks at the table seeing all his favourites, he looked back at me and began moving form one foot to another quickly, his hands waving slightly as I heard a quiet squeal coming from him. It was truly an adorable sight.

He ran to the couch and jumped on it making himself comfortable, ushering me over to him.

“Come on,” I laughed at his cute self, walked over and sat down on the couch, cuddling up into his side. He laid down on the couch, on his back bringing me on top of him, my arms wrapped around his waist and my head just below his chin. His arms around my waist keeping me steady. He kissed the top of my head. This is a normal occurrence, I don’t think too much about it.

Who the hell am I kidding, of course I over think it.


A couple movies after

I need to tell him now, we’re both really tired but I need to tell him or I never will.
“Shawn I need to tell you something,” I lifted my head and was basically straddling his waist as he was still lying down.

“What is it?” His concerned eyes looked over my face to try and figure out what’s wrong. I sighed and dropped my head in my hands.

“I don’t want to tell you, but I know I have to.” I felt him shifting. His large hands pulled my small ones away from my face and held them.

“Y/n just tell me, I won’t be mad, trust me,“ he gave me a reassuring look. It gave me enough courage.

"I just wanted to say, that I love you, more that a friend,” his face turned shocked, but I kept going, “and I have, ever since we met, ever since you pushed Joey down in Kindergarten for stealing my crayons. I’ve loved you even when I found out about your huge crush on Lauren, even when you fell in love with her. But Shawn, I can’t be in love with you anymore, it hurts too much and I feel I deserve better than unrequited love,” The weight was lifted of my shoulders and I smiled. 

It was soon crushed when he let go of my hands and stood up leaving me alone on the couch.

“Uh-um I don’t know what to say,” I looked at him hoping he would say it back, but, "I’m sorry,“ I knew he would never, "I’m sorry, but I don’t love you. I’m in love with Lauren and have been ever since I saw her in the hall-” I put my hand up to stop him.

“I know Shawn, I don’t need a play-by-play of your love for her, I know,” I wanted to cry but I had to seem like that I was getting over him so I smiled.

“I’m sorry, you do deserve better, you deserve someone who loves you back and I’m sorry I can’t be that person,” he didn’t even look at me. He found his way to the door and walked out.

I didn’t think I could feel as much pain as I did then.


Three weeks after

But I was wrong.

Ever since that night, Shawn has avoided me at all costs, ditching all our movie nights, never hanging out with me. If we were invited to the same thing, he won’t go unless I cancel. And the worst is his excuse. “I can’t, I’ve got plans with Lauren,” wow I tell him I’m in love with him and he just avoids me and hangs out with Lauren, his girlfriend. Well I don’t know but come on, it can’t get anymore obvious, they hang out everyday. God I’m completely over his shit right now.

I see Shawn leaning against a locker, obviously not noticing me. Wait, that’s my locker? What the hell is he doing there.

I make my way over there pushing him off my locker not making eye contact or even smiling at him, he deserves to be treated like I was. He was a little shocked and confused, as to why I pushed him, but I couldn’t care less.

“Uh-hey, I was waiting for you,” waiting? Since when did he wait for me? I’m confused.

“I wanted to walk to class with you, you know since we have English together,” He chuckled. I just stared blankly at him, causing him to shut up.

“Where’s Lauren?” I asked harshly.

“Huh?” He asked, confused.

“Ian? Matt? Lyall? Steph? Mel? Where the hell are they?”

"They’re not here, they’re at the Media camp for the rest of the week,” of course they are. Of course the only time he talks to me, it just so happens to be when he’s alone. I’m his second choice, well not even.

“Oh so when your alone, that’s the only time to talk to me,” realisation hit him, he tried to defend himself but I wouldn’t let him. I turn around ready to walk off, but he catches my arm stopping me from walking.

“Y/n that’s not wha-“

“Oh sure it isn’t.”

“Why won’t you let me talk to you?”

"Your kidding right? Because Shawn, you can’t just do that! You can’t just prance on over here and pretend everything’s fine, when it’s not! Why don’t you go back to avoiding me like you did before, seems like your pretty good at that!” I yelled, the bell rang causing everyone to leave and me becoming late for English. He can’t just use me like that. That jerk, I want to punch his pretty little face.

“Do you know how much it hurts? That my best friend ditches me after I had enough courage to tell him I loved him. You ditched me telling me it was because of Lauren. I told you how I felt and you, you avoided me at all costs. Do you understand how much that hurts? No? So then leave because I don’t want to be around an asshole like you,” I speed-walked all the way to English. I can’t cry in front of him. I won’t cry because of him, period.

I make it to my class only noticing that the teacher wasn’t here yet. Thank god.
Five minutes after I enter, Shawn comes in, hanging his head low and sits behind me. I feel a little bad for yelling. But he deserved it after the hell he put me through.


End of English

“Y/n, Shawn, can I see you after class please.”

Oh god really, did one of the snitches tell on us for being late? I just nodded packing up my things, my fell off my table and on to the ground. I kneeled down to grab it when I heard the door slam shut and someone locking it. I sprang up and saw Shawn leaning against the door and the teacher gone.

“Where the hell did he go?”

"I told him he could leave now. I asked him if we could use his classroom as a quiet place to talk and Mr. Andrews loves me so,” I glared at his tall figure. I don’t want anything to do with that jerk, I just want to leave.

“Look I know you hate me but I wanted to explain. I need to tell you,” I walked over to the desk at the front and sat down. He moved from the door to the front of the class leaning against the teachers desk, right in front of me.

“Then talk.”

"I’m sorry I ditched you, I’m sorry I avoided you,” I scoff, “look, I had a hard time trying to process that my best friend of 13 years is in love with me and has been for majority of that time.”

"Loved, don’t flatter yourself,” lie. His eyes dropped to the ground.

“I broke things off with Lauren,” I was shocked and confused, “you know it’s your fault right?” I was more confused than ever. “Everything lately has been your fault,” Okay, what? How dare he say that everything’s my fault! He has no right! I get up making the chair screech behind me. I begin walking towards Shawn, pointing at him

“My fault? How is you ‘deciding to end things with Lauren’ my fault!?” I start prodding his chest.

“It is your fault! Everything I have been feeling lately is your fault!” He stood up, making him tower over me. I didn’t back down. I pushed his chest hard, causing him to flinch. He grabbed my wrists to stop pushing him. The grip wasn’t too tight so I pulled away.

“What the hell are you talking about, how did I make you feel, huh? I wanna know, maybe it might explain why my so-called best friend has been ditching me for some girl, and then blames all his shitty mistakes on me. Explain how all your mistakes are my fault Shawn?” I yell at him flailing my arms around so he could get my point through his thick head.

“Because you made me fall in love with you!” He yelled gripping his hair.

“I knew I felt something for you but I kept in hidden! I didn’t tell you because I was with Lauren! I couldn’t just leave her after all I did to get her in the first place, but I also couldn’t string her along! I thought that maybe if I was in a relationship, I could forget all my feelings about you! Obliviously that didn’t work! When you told me you loved me I knew I could just tell you but I didn’t because-because I’m an idiot and I didn’t know what to do, okay? The reason I was ditching you was so I could figure out how I was going to say this, not because I was hanging out with Lauren, I ended whatever I had with her a couple days after our movie night.”

To say I was shocked was an understatement. He loved me. Why the heck didn’t he tell me in the first place? I was happy, mad and confused, so I did what I know best.

I slapped him. Hard, across the face. He looked a little taken back.

"What was that for?” He placed his palm against the, now, red skin.

“Why the hell didn’t you tell me! We could have avoided so much drama if you had just told me! God your so annoying!” He smirked at me, it made my blood boil.

He has the decency to smirk at me after all the hell he put me through.

His hands grabbed my hips and pulling me flat against his chest. I tried getting out of his grip but gave up once I felt his plump lips on mine.

My hands subconsciously found their way into his soft, brown hair and tugged slightly causing him to moan into the kiss. I smiled. This is actually happening. I’m actually kissing my best friend.

The kiss lasted no more than a minute. I pulled away too afraid to open my eyes, in case this was a dream. I felt soft lips plant another gentle kiss on my lips.

“Open your eyes Y/n, it’s not a dream, it actually happened,” Shawn’s calloused fingertips traced my jaw. I opened my eyes to meet his caramel brown ones. I smiled biting my lip softly.

“That was–something,” I let out a breathy laugh. He chuckled as well.

“Well, I hope I get to do that a lot more often now, since, hopefully, you’ll say yes. Y/n will you be my girlfriend?” I smiled up at him and kissed his lips, holding his face.

“I’ll take that as a yes,” he chuckled whilst we pulled apart. He took my hands and intertwined them. I looked down to see his large hand enveloping mine. I couldn’t believe this was real. I admitted my feelings for my best friend and he actually feels the same way. We kissed and now I’m his girlfriend.

This day could not get any better.

  1. issamessofkids reblogged this from shawnstilinski
  2. t1eenwolf-blog reblogged this from shawnstilinski
  3. stilinskimendes reblogged this from shawnstilinski
  4. shawnstilinski posted this
nb